brief History of Grande-Digue
the beginning it was just a strip of land along a salt water bay. A
river flowing to the bay had become an oasis for hunting and fishing by
the Micmac people who called it Esedeiik. This title became the name that
the first Acadian settlers were to call the whole area: Gedaique and later
on, through phonetic distortions, Shediac.
Acadian families found refuge in this area during the 1755 deportation but
didn’t file land claims until 1791. At that time Shediac was still the
name that was used for the whole area. Even today the parish of
Grande-Digue retains many references to its original designation: the
community of Shediac River, the river itself and Shediac Bridge are a few
Grande-Digue may have been no more than a pawn in the lengthy struggle
between France and England for the lands of Acadia and New France, it
still possesses its own rich history. Those interested in reading more
should consult Grande-Digue; Monographie historique d'une paroisse
acadienne, a French language textbook by Paul-Pierre Bourgeois.
active historical society, La Société Historique de Grande-Digue also
regularly publishes a collection of historical essays called Brins
d'histoire. The historical society is also responsible for the
local museum which is housed in a replica of the first local chapel.